Search
Tue, 14:42

A river bank which was falling into the water has been repaired and had improved accessibility installed by the Environment Agency.

Read more
Environment Agency
Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Do you love the town of Beccles and have a passion for your community?

Read more
Sunday, July 22, 2018

One of Beccles’ most prized community assets will soon be under control of its town council.

Read more
Waveney District Council
Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Howards’ managing director for 24 years, Chris Mitchell, is retiring following the acquisition of the local estate agency by the Spicerhaart organisation. Property editor Caroline Culot spoke to him about his career.

Read more
United Kingdom
Monday, July 2, 2018

Plans to put apartments and houses in a former police station have prompted concerns from the town’s mayor.

Read more
Elfrede Brambley-Crawshaw
Monday, July 2, 2018

Large crowds and perfect weather combined to make this year’s Beccles Hospital Fete a resounding success.

Read more
Elfrede Brambley-Crawshaw
Monday, June 18, 2018

Beccles-based Spotlight Musical Theatre Group’s production of Summer Holiday the musical comes to the Beccles Public Hall next week.

Read more
Switzerland
Monday, June 11, 2018

A town’s community spirit was epitomised as a popular weekly market celebrated its 40th anniversary.

Read more
Elfrede Brambley-Crawshaw
Wednesday, June 6, 2018

At a Suffolk hospital, herbs and fruit trees provide a sensory experience for dementia patients that they care for.

Read more
Beccles
Saturday, June 2, 2018

Concerns have been raised over plans to build 280 new homes in Beccles with residents fearing it will increase the strain on the town’s infrastructure and worsen existing traffic dilemmas.

Read more
Waveney District Council
Saturday, May 26, 2018

Bus users on the coast will need to check timetables after changes were announced by First Norfolk and Suffolk.

Read more
Southwold
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

The new mayor of Beccles is hoping to improve the town’s facilities for younger generations while also recognising its past accomplishments during her year in office.

Read more
Richard Stubbings
Thursday, April 26, 2018

A well-known choir will be hosting a special performance to raise vital funds for a Beccles-based charity.

Read more
Beccles
Thursday, April 19, 2018

A popular troupe of young performers is gearing up for its latest musical adventure with a brand new stage show.

Read more
Beccles
Monday, March 12, 2018

Two Rotarians were presented with special awards for their dedication at the Rotary Club of Beccles’ 69th charter night celebrations.

Read more
Michael Taylor
Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Italian restaurant chain Prezzo could be the latest business to close sites after reports emerged of a restructuring plan.

Read more
Dereham
Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Seven schools have closed in the Waveney area as the ‘Beast from the East’ hit the region.

Read more
Bungay High School
Wednesday, February 7, 2018

A stalwart of the Beccles community has seen his years of dedication pay off as he was installed as the new rector of the town.

Read more
Richard Stubbings
Monday, February 5, 2018

A foster mother received a rare moment in the limelight as she was made an MBE for three decades of devoted care-giving.

Read more
London
Friday, February 2, 2018

Members of the public will be trained to become special police informants as part of a new trial scheme across Suffolk.

Read more
Tim Passmore
Friday, January 12, 2018

Construction workers have moved in on Beccles fire station, as the first stages of expanding the site get under way.

Read more
Richard Stubbings
Thursday, January 11, 2018

Traffic on the A146 has returned to normal after a crash caused major delays this morning.

Read more
England Ambulance Service
Sunday, December 24, 2017

The year 2017 will always be a memorable one for Beccles-based photographer Joe Brady.

Read more
Beccles
Saturday, December 23, 2017

Community spirit is alive and kicking with over 30 organisations and charities across Norfolk spreading some Christmas cheer this year.

Read more
Salvation Army
Friday, December 22, 2017

Community heroes have been honoured for their incredible contributions to groups and projects in Beccles.

Read more
Richard Stubbings
Tuesday, December 19, 2017

A business support organisation is bringing back a popular range of skills workshops for start-ups in Suffolk and Norfolk.

Read more
Beccles
Thursday, December 7, 2017

He was the man behind one of the most evil villains in science fiction history - Davros, creator of the Daleks.

Read more
Richard Stubbings
Tuesday, December 5, 2017

In a time of uncertainty for the high street, a Beccles department store has bucked the trend with the addition of two big retail names.

Read more
Richard Stubbings
Wednesday, September 27, 2017

A college student took to the skies in aid of a cancer charity.

Read more
Dereham
Thursday, September 21, 2017

The future of a popular public space looks certain to have been settled after an agreement was put in place for it to be taken over by the town council.

Read more
Richard Stubbings

Most Read

Local Weather

Sunny

Sunny

max temp: 17°C

min temp: 13°C

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Beccles and Bungay Journal weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Beccles and Bungay Journal e-edition today
E-edition