Search
Thursday, February 13, 2020

Do you remember these violent weather events that battered us and flooded homes and businesses?

Read more
Thursday, January 16, 2020

An open letter to BBC director-general Tony Hall... with a rail ticket from Liverpool Street tucked in the envelope

Read more
Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Country estates for £5,000… a new Buick car for £700… county-town phone numbers with only three digits… Welcome to the 1920s

Read more
Wednesday, January 1, 2020

What happened to 'Trash Girl'? Which country was declared the happiest? And much more

Read more
Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Author asked people to tell her about their alleged supernatural experiences... and they did

Read more
Thursday, November 28, 2019

Our writer thinks the 'tradition' of giving secret gifts has had its day and needs to be scrapped.

Read more
Christmas
Thursday, November 7, 2019

Tony Whatling, who has died at 94, opened in 1951. He'd even be there on Christmas Day, in case folk had forgotten anything vital

Read more
death
Tuesday, October 15, 2019

They include the day a sleeping baby survived an explosion which tore a boat 'to atoms'

Read more
Sunday, October 13, 2019

There's the Millennium Green, shops with character, and plenty more. Have we missed your favourite things?

Read more
Friday, October 11, 2019

Comic shop staff cast their votes. Have they got it right? Who has missed out?

Read more
Saturday, September 28, 2019

Cole's has been making them for 80 years. Here are some Christmas puddings past and present. What's your favourite?

Read more
Christmas
Monday, September 9, 2019

Tributes to devoted Suffolk hospital nurse once called the 'hardest-working woman in the UK' and 'one of life's angels'

Read more
obituary
Wednesday, August 28, 2019

As we slip reluctantly into autumn, see what you recall of a summer marked by heatwaves, fierce storms and drama on the cricket field

Read more
Thursday, June 13, 2019

Dudley had run The Crown and other Adnams hotels, and helped start Southwold Literature Festival

Read more
obituary
Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Rosie and husband Michael launched Open Christmas, to help people alone on December 25. It's still going strong

Read more
obituary
Friday, June 7, 2019

Village honours clergyman who wrote about a woman spending 12 years in bed and the teacher who couldn't read or write

Read more
Diss
Wednesday, May 22, 2019

You may be familiar with the Foulger Transport fleet. Linda, wife of Richard, tells us more about the man behind the vans

Read more
obituary
Saturday, May 18, 2019

With the UN suggesting we're all going to hell in a handcart, one of our greatest writers about farming and rural life still reminds us what we risk losing

Read more
Wednesday, May 15, 2019

He was involved with Norwich Shopmobility and the Boudicca Way trail, and checking that shops and restaurants had decent access

Read more
obituary
Tuesday, May 7, 2019

'During my really dark days it is the garden that has been my driving force,' says Jane. It's open on May 11

Read more
Halesworth
Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Romantic Novel of the Year award winner on her 22nd book, George Clooney and why she'd make 'a very good Miss Marple!'

Read more
Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Obituary: Bungay Grammar School boy Ray Woodhouse became a 'brilliant' teacher and an Ofsted inspector. He believed young people deserved the best education

Read more
death
Tuesday, March 19, 2019

The story of this indepedent film house is very interesting indeed - filled with tales of pioneering spirit, romance and some real 'characters'.

Read more

Most Read

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Beccles and Bungay Journal e-edition today
E-edition