Outstanding individual and group achievements have taken centre stage as the "talent, excellence and inspiration that shines in East Suffolk" has been celebrated.

An evening of celebration was marked at the glittering annual Suffolk Chamber of Commerce in Lowestoft and Waveney Business Awards.

A sold out gala awards ceremony was held at the Ivy House Country Hotel in Oulton Broad, Lowestoft as 18 awards were presented.

More than 180 local business representatives and special guests attended with the evening compered by Chris Bailey.

MG Builders (East Anglia) Ltd won the Small Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Carl Wright Training, as Spectra Packaging of Halesworth won the Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Radical Waste based at Ellough in Beccles.

The evening culminated with Lovewell Blake presented with the special Longstanding Business Award sponsored by the Suffolk Chamber of Commerce, as it celebrates 100 years of Chamber support in Lowestoft & Waveney.

Jennifer Cushion, chair of the Suffolk Chamber of Commerce in Lowestoft and Waveney, said: "What a fantastic awards ceremony – a well-deserved celebration of all that makes the business community here in Lowestoft and Waveney so special.

"It is truly magnificent to see our business awards grow each year, with so many businesses showcasing their skills, talent and success."

John Dugmore, chief executive of Suffolk Chamber of Commerce, added: "Lowestoft and Waveney businesses are again showcasing their talent and growth – as shown by the shortlisted and winning entries for these awards."

Award winners

Family Business of the Year, sponsored by Waveney MP Peter Aldous

Winner: Bee Natural Wax Melts

Finalist: Focus Organic

Growing Business of the Year, sponsored by Nicholsons Solicitors

Winner: Seatrium Offshore Renewables Service

Finalist: AEP Global

Net Zero Champion Award, sponsored by East Suffolk Council

Winner: Lickety Ice

Finalist: Bison Electrical

Tourism & Hospitality Award, sponsored by Lovewell Blake

Winner: Thorington Theatre

Finalist: Wardley Hill Campsite

Commitment to Workplace Culture Award, sponsored by Access Community Trust

Winner: CODE Hair Consultants

Finalist: Total Balance Wellbeing Centre

Community Pride Award, sponsored by Lowestoft Rising

Winner: East Suffolk One Radio

Finalist: Beccles Public Hall & Theatre

Excellence in Customer Service (1-10 employees) Award, sponsored by SMS

Winner: Enhance Cosmetic Clinic

Finalist: Lord Kitchener Memorial Centre

Excellence in Customer Service (11+ employees) Award, sponsored by Ivy House Country Hotel

Winner: SMS Group

Finalist: Moss & Co

Local Charity of the Year, sponsored by Fern Communications

Winner: Inspire - Youth Charity

Finalist: Disability Advice North East Suffolk

Made in East Suffolk Award, sponsored by Sizewell C

Winner: Black Dog Deli

Finalist: Sunrise Studios

Apprentice/Trainee of the Year Award, sponsored by East Coast College

Winner: Cameron Field - James Fisher Subtech

Winner: Mia Porter - Fern Comms

Most Promising New Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Associate British Ports

Winner: Jet Adventures

Finalist: Nexus Ramps

Recognition of Lifetime Achievement Awards, sponsored by Peterson

Presented to Gwen Parsons – Disability Advice North East Suffolk

Presented to Lord Kitchener Memorial Centre Team

Small Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Carl Wright Training

Winner: MG Builders (East Anglia) Ltd

Finalist: AEP Global

Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Radical Waste

Winner: Spectra Packaging

Finalist: Black Dog Deli

Longstanding Business of the Year sponsored by Suffolk Chamber of Commerce

Presented to Lovewell Blake.


With the Lord Kitchener Memorial Centre in Lowestoft presented with a lifetime achievement award, chair of trustees, Denise Brady, attended along with management committee member Brian Round and centre managers Duane and Caroline Ashworth.

Admitting they were "completely surprised" with the honour, Mrs Brady said: "This award is a testament to the work of all those that have been involved with the charity since it began in 1919."