Your chance to work on 900-year-old castle
- Credit: Archant
People will be able to see more of a town’s 900-year-old historic castle after new plans put in by its trust.
The lower wall of Bungay Castle will become better exposed, restored and conserved by the Bungay Castle Trust - who are also working on building a new museum to showcase the castle's history.
At the beginning of November the trust's previous chair, Olly Barnes, stepped down from his position but remains a trustee.
The new chair, Sue Allen, says she is committed to building a new museum and continuing restoration work.
To kick things off, the Bungay Castle Trust will be holding a working party day on Saturday, December 7 from 10am until 4pm, carrying out work to clear vegetation around the castle so the lower wall "can be better understood and better interpreted".
You may also want to watch:
The trust say tools will be provided as well as a light lunch and refreshments, and it will be a great opportunity to discover more about the castle and its rich history.
READ MORE: Work under way to restore town castle ahead of heritage bidREAD MORE: Christmas carols at Bungay CastleBungay Castle is a Norman castle built by Roger Bigod of Norfolk around the year 1100. It was built to be protected by the River Waveney, and still remains standing prominently in the town centre.
However, in the more than 900 years of history the castle has stood to witness, it has been besieged, mined, destroyed and restored many times.
- 1 Appeal to trace owner after gold ring is found
- 2 Man was found dead in wooded area after battle with alcoholism, inquest hears
- 3 Welcome to our new website
- 4 Missing pregnant woman found
- 5 Man admits voyeurism after filming people in bathrooms with hidden cameras
- 6 ‘Taking a battering’: medical centre boss reveals public’s treatment of exhausted staff
- 7 Green light for new Tesco store in town centre
- 8 Encouraging signs as Covid infection rates plummet in parts of Norfolk
- 9 Plea for help to trace missing heavily pregnant woman
- 10 'The Gull Wing is go' - Joy as third crossing secures Government approval
Now what remains is thanks to a deal of restoration work beginning in 1934, following the work of amateur archaeologist Leonard Cane.
The curtain walls and twin towers of the gatehouse remain, and a small fragment of the keep.
In 1987 the castle was given to the town by the Duke of Norfolk, and is owned by the Bungay Castle Trust.
To volunteer for the working party day (for either the whole day or a part of it), contact Sue on firstname.lastname@example.org.