Bungay Society hands out rewards

The 2015 winners of the Bungay Society awards – left to right, Judy Cloke and town mayor Sylvia Knig

The 2015 winners of the Bungay Society awards – left to right, Judy Cloke and town mayor Sylvia Knights, Town Council; Colin Hancy, Bungay Castle Trust; Sue and Dave Watts, Old Bank Tea Rooms; Martin Evans, society secretary; Michael Davies. society president, and Betty Warnes, Friends of St Mary’s Church. - Credit: Archant

Projects that have helped to enhance Bungay over the past two years were rewarded at the annual meeting of the Bungay Society.

Members had voted on a shortlist of nominations for the awards and they voted the Bowerbank Room in St Mary’s Church, into first place.

The framed award certificate, received by the Friends of St Mary’s officers Betty Warnes and Martin Evans, said it was in recognition of the sterling work done by the committee in achieving a facility for the town and district.

Built largely with funds from the legacy of Bungay benefactor Kathleen Bowerbank, it provides a meeting room, exhibition room and an information point for the town.

Joint second was the Old Bank Tea Rooms in the Market Place and the Castle Link, established by the Bungay Castle Trust.

The Tea Rooms, which sits in the former Midland Bank premises, was recognised for the imaginative transformation of an iconic building to serve residents and tourists in Bungay.

It was received by proprietors David and Sue Watts.

Most Read

Colin Hancy, chairman of the Castle Trust, received the award for the imaginative installation of the link, which completes a circular walk of the outer and inner castle site and aids the interpretation of the ancient monument.

In third place was the Bungay town enhancement scheme, originally recommended by Bungay Town Council and carried out by Suffolk County Council.

Town mayor Sylvia Knights and immediate past mayor Judy Cloke received the framed certificate, which paid tribute to the foresight and tenacity of the town council in bringing about the scheme to the benefit of the Bungay streetscape, serving residents and tourists alike.

The society’s president, the town reeve Michael Davies, presented the awards.

During the evening new officers were elected.

They are as follows: president, the town reeve; life vice-president, Ivy Collins; chairman Terry Reeve; secretary, Martin Evans and treasurer, Sue Allen. The committee is made up of Michael Belcher, Richard Cundy, Gill Davey, Maureen Davies, Didy Ward, Chris Reeve, Betty Warnes, Jenny Willer and David Wolfenden.

Bungay Society meets at the community centre.