Players, officials and volunteers who work tirelessly in local cricket were saluted at the Norfolk Cricket Board's Grassroots Awards evening.

About 80 guests gathered at Wensum Valley Hotel and heard an inspiring collection of stories from around the county from the work of groundsmen to coaches to young volunteers.

Volunteer development officer Neil Irons organised the event board chair Jane Hannah was compere.


Rising Star

Winner: Niamh Rushton (Great Melton)

Runners up: Jamie Pywell (Swardeston) and Will Hurrell (Hethersett and Tas Valley)

Game Changer

Winner: Thomas Cox (Dereham)

Runners up: Luc Brister (Norwich) and Liam Riseborough (Barney)

Cricket Innovators

Winner: Alex Patterson (Acle)

Runner Up: Teresa & Steve Davey (Beccles) and Richard Skeen (Thornham)

Connecting Communities

Winner: Andrew Cooper (Hingham)

Runner up: Rocklands CC

Inspired to Play

Winner: Sam Adkin (Grimston)

Runners up: - David Grady (Downham Stow) and Andy Horobin (Diss)

Grounds Management Team

Winner: Paul Borrett & Colin Whurr (Norwich)

Runners up: Matthew Bradley & Alex Pocklington (Ketteringham Hall) and Mike Phoenix & Grenville Ireland (Great Melton)

Growing The Game

Winner: Matthew Barnett (Rocklands)

Runners up: Karen Reeder (Topcroft) and Richard Ewin (Great Ellingham)

Safe Hands

Winner: Helena Last (Hethersett +Tas Valley)

Runners up: Karan Taylor (Rocklands) and Gary Saunders (Aylsham St Giles)

Lifetime Achiever

Winner: Steve Phoenix (Great Melton)

Runners up: Patrick Dewing (Bradenham) and Martin Pearse (Norfolk Seniors)

Unsung Hero

Winner: Robin Yates (Mundford CC)

Runners up: Paul Aldous (St Andrews) and Michelle Paterson (Rocklands)