Bungay Town playing waiting game on promotion

Bungay Town award winners with their trophies at the presentation evening Picture: TERRY REEVE

Bungay Town award winners with their trophies at the presentation evening Picture: TERRY REEVE - Credit: Archant

Bungay Town held their end-of-season presentation evening at the Maltings Pavilion still not knowing whether they have been promoted to the Anglian Combination Premier Division.

They finished third in Division One behind UEA and Mundford and with Sheringham leaving the Premier Division for the Thurlow Nunn League, the likelihood is that a third promotion place will be available, but that has still to be confirmed.

The league still has to decide on other top flight issues before it can make an announcement. But there was still plenty to celebrate on Saturday, with awards for players being presented.

Brannan Solomon won the first team supporters' player of the year award after a string of impressive performances in midfield. Joint runners-up were Shaun Whiteman and Josh Knights.

Whiteman, who as captain was outstanding in defence all season and also finished as top scorer with 13 goals, received the players' player award voted for by his team-mates, with Solomon runner-up.

And manager Richard Daniels gave his manager's award to striker Ash Canham, who hit 11 goals. Veteran Craig Hunting, who during the season became the all time record appearance maker for the club, was runner-up. He has now amassed 566 appearances — none of them in the premier division - for Bungay. Now he is hoping to have the chance to put that right next season.

The Black Dogs were last in the top flight 30 years ago, in 1989-90, 10 years before Hunting made his debut for the club.

Most Read

Daniels is now to fill the role of director of football for the club with Wayne Hunter, his assistant for the past three years, becoming first team manager.

Bungay Reserves' player of the year award went to Jake Wilson, with Lewis Good taking the manager's award. A team player of the year was Nathan Tyler, with Dom Pearce the manager's choice.

Other awards presented: Sunday team player's player James Holden; manager's player Stu Campbell; veterans: player's player Alex Knights; manager's player Alex Knights; U18s: player's player Myles Payne; manager's player James Dickinson; chairman's mug Richard Daniels.