Cricket club gets through toughest year in its history

Hales Cricket Club held their annual meeting at the White Horse Chedgrave, with club chairman Pete Dye paying tribute to his hard-working committee for coping with undoubtedly the toughest year in its history.

Dye said 2010 has been a very testing time for the club. Moving to a new ground, getting the modules completed, dealing with planning, the Norfolk Alliance and Chance 2 Shine had seen the club tested to the maximum.

He sited finishing sixth in Division One of the Alliance as a great success.

Key injuries and unavailability were not an ideal preparation for the club’s first season at that level.

He announced with regret that the club’s colts side had been withdrawn.

“We feel it’s best to strengthen the A team, who need more experienced players to bring on what is a young talented group. And with a young side being subjected to some unpleasant experiences, it was felt best to withdraw, with a view to re-introduce in a year or so.”

He praised groundsmen Steve Claxton and Matty Lovick who had worked tirelessly throughout the year. Steve Rowe did a great job with the first team, despite working away. Chris Ayre and Jamie Weston kept the A team running under tough circumstances.

Most Read

Paul and Jill Lovick were thanked for the barbecues, Jon Vale for the bar, as well as Marie and Liam Jones, who alongside Mark Ingram had been excellent additions for the club.

Praise and thanks continued to Brian Read for the sponsorship; Roger Chubbock,who completed an amazing 33rd year as club scorer; treasurer Trevor Squire and secretary Carl Pitcher.

The chairman paid tribute to Kirsty Lovick who, despite having a tough year, had been an outstanding servant to the club. Whether painting, cleaning, fundraising, serving behind the bar or making teas, she had been pivotal to the club, and a great help in running it.

Dye also thanked club president Sir Nicholas Bacon whose support for the club has been outstanding.

“He is very much behind us in all we are trying to do. Without his support our progression wouldn’t be possible, simple as that!”

Officers elected: president, Sir Nicholas Bacon; chairman, Pete Dye; vice-chairman, Steve Claxton; treasurer, Trevor Squire; secretary, Carl Pitcher.

Manager of youth, Pete Dye; 1st team captain, Phil Squire; 1st team coach, Steve Rowe; A-team captain, Mark Ingram; welfare officer, Paul Bassingthwaighte; club captain, Steve Rowe; head youth coach, Quorn Handley.

Bar manager, Jonathan Vale; groundsmen, Steve Claxton, Matthew Lovick; assistant groundsmen, Kevin Jones, Liam Jones; fundraising co-ordinator, Kirsty Lovick; youth rep chairman, Liam Jones; maintenance manager, Paul Lovick; sponsorship, Brian Read.

Youth nets start on January 6 at 6pm at Loddon Sports Hall, with senior nets starting in March.

For more details email

n Hales CC youth awards – P 47.