Hales have plenty to celebrate

PUBLISHED: 10:59 11 December 2009 | UPDATED: 08:58 01 August 2010

HALES Cricket Club held their 54th annual meeting, with progress made both on and off the field in 2009.

The first team won Alliance Division Two, their fourth success in as many years.

HALES Cricket Club held their 54th annual meeting, with progress made both on and off the field in 2009.

The first team won Alliance Division Two, their fourth success in as many years.

The A team finished bottom of their league, but due to Alliance teams dropping out, have remained in Division four for next year. The Colts recorded their best season to date, finishing fifth, chalking up seven victories on the way.

Carter Cup cricket was also experienced for the first time in the club's history.

Chance 2 Shine was again a success, with the club coaching in local schools, under the leadership of Quorn Handley. The club also received the ECB Clubmark accreditation renewal, a charter mark of the youth work the club provides.

The club also retained its ECB Focus Club status within the county.

Officers elected were: President Sir Nicholas Bacon, chairman Pete Dye, vice chairman Steve Claxton, treasurer Trevor Squire, secretary Carl Pitcher, groundsman Steve Claxton, Matt Lovick, welfare officer Paul Bassingwaighte, manager of youth cricket Pete Dye, Chance 2 Shine lead coach Quorn Handley, club captain Jon Vale, first team captain/coach Steve Rowe, first team vice captain Neil Pearson, A team captain Aron Jones, A team vice captain Chris Ayre, Colt's manager Pete Dye, honorary score Roger Chubbock, youth reps Liam Jones, Chris Andersen, press officer Milton Lindsay, maintence Paul Lovick.

The club's new square had a very successful outing, with over 450 runs being clocked up, in Sir Nicholas Bacon's President's XI match.

Work is on going, with the pitch on course to host Alliance Cricket at Hales for 2010 and work continuing in raising money for the new clubhouse via grants, donations and sponsorship.

Club chairman Pete Dye thanked all the players, but particularly the hard-working committee who have worked tirelessly, as the club look to continue progressing on all fronts.

Meanwhile, Hales CC held their presentation dinner at the White Horse Chedgrave.

Quorn Handley was guest speaker, with the awards presented as follows: first team player Phil Squire, first team bowler Graham Squire, first team batsman Dave Harmer, first team batsman Marty Cornish, captains cup Matt Lovick, fielder Mark Ramsdale, most man of matches Dan Andersen, players' player Rob Andersen, A team player Jon Vale, A team batsman Milton Lindsay, A team bowler Jamie Weston, A team man of matches Jamie Weston, highest individual score 114 Dave Harmer, best bowling performance Alex Taylor (7 overs 0 maidens 28 runs 8 wickets), young player of season Chris Andersen, clubman of the year Steve Claxton.

Honorary scorer Roger Chubbock will receive a briefcase in recognition for over 30 years' service to the club.

Club chairman Pete Dye thanked him for his long service and dedication to the club over such a long time.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Beccles and Bungay Journal. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Beccles and Bungay Journal