Records crash as Shipley smashes home unbeaten 270 in Bungay A victory

PUBLISHED: 16:02 29 May 2017 | UPDATED: 17:19 29 May 2017

Bungay's George Shipley after his record score. Picture: Oliver Flood

Bungay's George Shipley after his record score. Picture: Oliver Flood


George Shipley broke the Norfolk Cricket League record for the highest individual score when he smashed 270 not out for Bungay A, as the Division 4SE leaders piled up 419-9 against hapless Great Yarmouth A.

In partnership with 14-year-old Archie Flood, the 10th-wicket partnership record was also recorded.

Elsewhere at Level Four, Rackheath and Old Buckenham B remain unbeaten in 4SW, Castle Rising A head 4NW and Sprowston C remain unbeaten in 4NE, but lag behind leaders Coltishall having played a game fewer.

Sandringham take over the leadership of Division One at the end of May, thanks mainly to James Banham’s 72 not out as they overcame basement side Castle Acre, who remain winless. Overstrand picked up their first away win as they shot out hosts Great Yarmouth for 52, Neil Yarham taking 6-6. Castle Rising moved to second with a comfortable win over morning leaders St Andrews, while Saxlingham beat title favourites Happisburgh, thanks to Mohammed Nifras’ 4-21, while Kirkley & Belton were also winners against Felthorpe.

Division 2E sees Caister at the head, as Paul French’s 87 helped them overcome Sprowston B. Halvergate remain in touch as Perry Kelf, with a maiden century, and Luke Hannant (88) helped them see off Great Melton B. There were wins too for Aylsham St Giles, Gillingham and Cringleford Lodge.

Narborough head Division 2W, coming out on top against Reepham and Salle with David Cornwall grabbing 4-24. East Harling remain unbeaten – they beat Beetley, despite Alex Jenkins’ 5-24 for the losers. Drayton’s Tim Woods cracked 87 not out as they beat Great Ellingham, while Garboldisham B picked up a win.

Divison 3C saw the biggest surprises as leaders Mellis, Hingham and Wensum all lost for the first time against Hardingham A, Malayalees and Hethersett & Tas Valley B respectively, while in Division 3E, Rollesby and Kirkley & Belton A both have perfect records. In 3W, leaders Beeston walloped Bircham A by 209 runs.

The new Tom Bartram T20 Trophy got under way, with wins for Saxlingham, Reepham & Salle, Halvergate, Saham Toney and Happisburgh.


Welcome , please leave your message below.

Optional - JPG files only
Optional - MP3 files only
Optional - 3GP, AVI, MOV, MPG or WMV files

Please log in to leave a comment and share your views with other Beccles and Bungay Journal visitors.

We enable people to post comments with the aim of encouraging open debate.

Only people who register and sign up to our terms and conditions can post comments. These terms and conditions explain our house rules and legal guidelines.

Comments are not edited by Beccles and Bungay Journal staff prior to publication but may be automatically filtered.

If you have a complaint about a comment please contact us by clicking on the Report This Comment button next to the comment.

Not a member yet?

Register to create your own unique Beccles and Bungay Journal account for free.

Signing up is free, quick and easy and offers you the chance to add comments, personalise the site with local information picked just for you, and more.

Sign up now

Most Read

Latest from the Beccles and Bungay Journal

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists