Skipper leads the way again as runners brave wintry weather at Beccles Turkey Trot

PUBLISHED: 08:22 15 December 2017

Men's fancy dress winner Ben Hadingham. Picture: Club

Men's fancy dress winner Ben Hadingham. Picture: Club


Around 355 hardy runners, just short of last year’s record 375 finishers, tackled Sunday’s Beccles Turkey Trot 10-mile road race in wintry weather, many braving the conditions in festive costumes.

Women's fancy dress winner Sarah-Jane Lumley. Picture: ClubWomen's fancy dress winner Sarah-Jane Lumley. Picture: Club

Only on one occasion in recent years, in 2010, has Waveney Valley AC’s race been cancelled due to icy roads, but the go-ahead was given this year with just puddles and slush underfoot for competitors to deal with.

Early morning rain turned to sleet as the race got under way from outside Sir John Leman High School. The route then took in the country lanes of Ilketshall St Andrew and Ringsfield, before returning to the school.

The winner for the third time - and the second successive year - was Joe Skipper of Team Skipper, who took an early lead which he held onto to cross the line in a time of 56:26. Second was Rob Chenery of Ipswich Jaffa in 56:56 and third Framlingham Flyer’s Jim Last in 58:10.

Emma Attwood of Stowmarket Striders was this year’s winning woman in a time of 1:09.05. Second was team mate Gemma Porch in 1:10.31 and third Jessica Behan of Norwich Road Runners in 1:11.13.

Framlingham Flyers were the men’s team winners and Stowmarket Striders won the ladies’ event.

The fancy dress entry was again well supported and the winners were Ben Hadingham and Sarah-Jane Lumley.

Host club Waveney Valley had 33 finishers, more than a dozen of them running a 10-mile race for the first time. There were personal best times by Steve Carruthers, Chris Bradford, Stuart Spurgeon, Stephanie Pimlott and Donna Milner. Club results: Steve Carruthers 1-05:53, Chris Bradford 1-08.22, Daniel Harris 1-11.05, Tim Earl 1-11:40, Ricci Wilson 1-12:10, Rob Milner 1-12:58, Lisa Knights 1-15:58, Stuart Spurgeon 1-16:19, Bill Kingaby 1-16:46, Leon Neeve 1-17:59, Darrel Roberts 1-18:08, Becky Langford 1-21:26, Stephanie Pimlott 1-23:23, Daren Coulter 1-23:40, Ian Hawkes 1-23:53, David Mower 1-25:59, Paul Harrod 1-26:00, Daryl McKeown 1-27:07, Grainne Purvis 1:30:54, Louise Harrod 1:31:33, Joe Mayne 1-31:34, Lee Roth 1-33:20, Stuart Smith 1-33:33, John Skelly 1-35:06, Camilla Darling 1:36:04, Dave Catchpole 1-38:04, Demelza Hammond 1-40:09, Rosemary Plant 1-40:39, Beth Stephens 1-43:28, Caroline Clamp 1-44:50, Lisa Farrington 1-46:35, Donna Milner 1-50:06, Lisa Cone 1-50:08.


Welcome , please leave your message below.

Optional - JPG files only
Optional - MP3 files only
Optional - 3GP, AVI, MOV, MPG or WMV files

Please log in to leave a comment and share your views with other Beccles and Bungay Journal visitors.

We enable people to post comments with the aim of encouraging open debate.

Only people who register and sign up to our terms and conditions can post comments. These terms and conditions explain our house rules and legal guidelines.

Comments are not edited by Beccles and Bungay Journal staff prior to publication but may be automatically filtered.

If you have a complaint about a comment please contact us by clicking on the Report This Comment button next to the comment.

Not a member yet?

Register to create your own unique Beccles and Bungay Journal account for free.

Signing up is free, quick and easy and offers you the chance to add comments, personalise the site with local information picked just for you, and more.

Sign up now

Most Read

Latest from the Beccles and Bungay Journal

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists