Search
Wednesday, January 9, 2019

The damage done to 52 beach huts caught up in surging spring tides is still unknown.

Read more
Waveney District Council
Saturday, January 5, 2019

That was the year that was – and 2018 certainly had a lot going for it in terms of entertainment.

Read more
Richard Curtis
Tuesday, December 25, 2018

Hundreds of swimmers braved the biting cold and harsh winds to jump head first into the freezing sea – all in the name of charity.

Read more
Sentinel Leisure Trust
Monday, December 17, 2018

A pitch and putt golf course which cost taxpayers almost £1,000-a-week is set to close down after years of declining popularity.

Read more
Graham Catchpole
Friday, December 14, 2018

Organisers of a popular festive tradition are hoping more “local heroes” will take the plunge to make this “the biggest year” of fundraising yet.

Read more
Sentinel Leisure Trust
Monday, November 19, 2018

Outstanding individual and group achievements of businesses across Waveney were honoured at a glittering awards ceremony.

Read more
Peter Aldous
Friday, October 12, 2018

A glittering awards ceremony honouring “people who do extraordinary things” has been hailed as a “wonderful success.”

Read more
Peter Aldous
Friday, October 5, 2018

The judges for this year’s Stars of Lowestoft and Waveney awards have announced the shortlist of finalists ahead of the its annual ceremony.

Read more
NHS
Monday, October 1, 2018

A key part of Beccles’ heritage has been restored to its rightful owners as the town took back control over one of its most iconic pieces of real estate.

Read more
Elfrede Brambley-Crawshaw
Friday, September 14, 2018

A new programme offering a “long-term commitment” to supporting the rehabilitation of stroke survivors has been launched.

Read more
Stephen Ardley
Thursday, August 30, 2018

The deadline to nominate unsung heroes from across Waveney for a community award which recognises their valiant efforts has been extended.

Read more
Waveney District Council
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

An Olympic gold medallist officially unveiled the new Oulton Broad Water Sports Centre at an event at Nicholas Everitt Park.

Read more
Sentinel Leisure Trust
Thursday, July 26, 2018

Under-16s across Waveney are being given the opportunity to swim for free this summer.

Read more
Waveney District Council
Saturday, July 21, 2018

Hundreds of people have flocked to Lowestoft’s seafront as the town’s annual summer festival gets under way.

Read more
Suffolk County Council
Saturday, May 5, 2018

A “very successful” programme will relaunch later this month with the aim of getting more families and young people outside and active.

Read more
Stephen Ardley
Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Organisers have hailed the success of a popular festive tradition after more than £13,000 was raised for deserving causes.

Read more
Sentinel Leisure Trust
Saturday, March 3, 2018

A number of leisure centres across Waveney and Great Yarmouth will remain closed today (March 3) as the inclement weather continues.

Read more
Sentinel Leisure Trust
Friday, March 2, 2018

Waveney District Council aims to resume bin collections on Monday after the “treacherous conditions” forced them to cancel refuse collections for a third successive day.

Read more
Suffolk County Council
Thursday, March 1, 2018

Rubbish collections, swimming lessons, and school events were cancelled as the Beast from the East continues to grip Waveney.

Read more
Suffolk County Council
Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Waveney District Council’s bin collection teams are not operating today (Wednesday) due to the “treacherous conditions.”

Read more
Suffolk County Council

Most Read

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 6°C

min temp: -2°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Beccles and Bungay Journal weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Beccles and Bungay Journal e-edition today
E-edition